• Page
  • News
  • Events
  • Notice

Department of


Date: 2018-02-07

The Department of Architecture organized Rafiq Azam Travel Bursary (RATB), AUST 2018: Chapter 02

(Rafiq Azam Travel Bursary)

The Department of Architecture of Ahsanullah University of Science and technology organized a program on the occasion of RATB, AUST 2018: Chapter 02. RATB was launched in 2010, as travel grant to architecture students by Ar. Rafiq Azam, Principle Architect of SHATOTTO, Architecture for green living.

Students from Ahsanullah University of Science and Technology (AUST) and BRAC University (BRACU) in Bangladesh have already been awarded with the RATB scholarships to explore cultural, historical and architectural diversity in overseas. In the year 2018, five students participated in the competition and won the RATB grant for this year. The program on RATB award takes place on January 28 at the Prof. M.H Khan Auditorium of the AUST Campus.

Fig 01: Organizers, Jurors, Participants, Audience

The day long program was performed in two sessions. In the morning session the competition event for RATB, AUST 2018 conducted in the Department with the participants and the honourable jurors. Prof. Dr. Jasmin Ara Begum, Head, Department of Architecture , AUST,  Ar. Rafiq Azam, Principal Architect, SHATOTTO, Architecture for green living, Ar. A.B.M Mahbubul Malik, Associate Professor, Department of Architecture, AUST, Prof. Dr. Shehzad Zahir, Professor, Department of Architecture, AUST, Ar. Syed Monirul Islam, Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture, AUST and Ar. Nur e Zannat Jui, Head of Design, SHATOTTO, Architecture for green living were attended the jury session for the selection of grant winner for the 2018. The participants presented their insights under the selected topic of RATB, AUST Chapter 02 "Me within me". By the assessment of the honourable jurors, Zarin Tasnim Shamma, student of 3rd year 2nd semester have been awarded with the grant this year.

Fig 02: (Left: Jurors of RATB 2018, AUST), (Right: Welcome Speech by convenor Dr.Shehzad Zahir.)

The second session of the program began at 2.30 pm at the Prof. M.H Khan Auditorium with a huge participation of students, teachers and other notable guests. The session started with the Welcome speech by prof. Dr. Shehzad Zahir, Convenor of the Seminar and Workshop Organizing Committee. The main attraction of the program was the presentation of the winners from previous year. The presentations were performed by Ummehani Binte Ahmed (AUST, Dhaka), Kazi Rafid Bin Zaman (BRACU, Dkaha), Khadija Zoeb (City School of Architecture, Colombo, Srilanka) and Debmalya Ghosh (Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India). They illustrated their experiences and achievements by travelling in various countries with the grant.  After the presentation, Ar. Rafiq Azam shared his ideas about the future of RATB. Finally the program was followed by the award giving ceremony for RATB 2018.

The first and second part of the RATB, AUST 2018 was moderated by Ar. Jayedi Aman and Nirjala Maharjan respectively. The event was organized by the Seminar and Workshop Organizing Committee of The Department of Architecture, Ahsanullah University of Science and Technology and supported by Ar. Maher Nigar, Ar. Farjana Rahman and Ar. Sheikh Rishad Ahmmad.

Fig 03: (Left: Audience), (Middle: Speech by Ar. Rafiq Azam), (Right: Presenter and a part of audience).